Arya Awards


New Rules and Entry Details

The LA&OC Audio Society – the largest in the world with over 2700 members – will again host the Audiophile Recording of the Year Award. The winner will be announced at the LA&OC Audio Society’s Gala on December 8th with the winners on hand to receive the Society’s unique, hand-made trophies. TWO AWARDS WILL BE GIVEN IN 2019!

Wayne Shorter won the 2018 ARYA Trophy for EMANON! Congratulations Wayne! Don Was, President of Blue Note Records, accepted the ARYA for Wayne. Wayne Shorter was being honored that day as part of the Kennedy Center Honors in Washington, DC.

The Society’s Blue-Ribbon Judging Panel

The Award is the first to be judged by audiophiles for audiophiles by a Blue-Ribbon Panel under the auspices of the LA&OC Audio Society with Dr. David Robinson, Editor of Positive Feedback, as the Society’s Executive Vice President and Award Committee Chairman. Panel members include Senior Vice President Michael Fremer of Stereophile, Senior Vice President Gaurav Vij, Vice President Dean Seislove, Vice President Paul Seydor, The Absolute Sound, and Lifetime Member Dan Meinwald. You simply can’t get better than that.

The Call for Entries

Two ARYA Awards will be given in 2019…one for original music and one for finest re-issue. The original and re-issue albums must be received by the panel by September 30th to be eligible for consideration in 2019. Send the appropriate album media, software, or links in highest resolution to Dr. David Robinson, 9388 S.E. Hunters Bluff Avenue, Happy Valley, OR 97086, USA. Please include the producer, artist, and their contact information and note that no software will be returned.

The Criteria

Eligible recordings are those released between January 1st and close-of-entries on September 30th, 2019. Judging for the original album will be based on two major criteria given equal weight: superior technical and recording values, and the quality of the artist’s performance. Judging for the re-issue album will be based entirely on the overall quality of the re-issue. The albums may be any style of music on any medium and must be available for sale in the US.

The Timeline

The winner is to be submitted to the President of the Society by November 1st and presented at the 26th Annual Society Gala in Los Angeles on December 8th.

Bob Levi
President and CEO
Los Angeles and Orange County Audio Society